Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, May 28, 2010

Taylor carried Punahou to top

 •  Leung powered Hawai‘i Baptist
 •  Tatupu Jr. a big hit with Marauders
 •  Rough Riders' Ramos repeats
 •  Fetui fueled Mules' title run

Advertiser Staff

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Punahou's Josh Taylor was voted ILH DI Player of Year.

Advertiser library photo

spacer spacer
Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Rick Tune

spacer spacer

Josh Taylor helped the Buffanblu volleyball team finish first in the state and nation.

Punahou's powerful hitter was voted by league coaches as the Interscholastic League of Honolulu Player of the Year.

The Buffanblu won the league title and capped an undefeated season with their second straight state title. Punahou, which spent most of the season as the top-ranked team in the nation, finished on top of the ESPN Rise poll.

Punahou placed three other players on the first team: hitters Taylor Crabb and Henry Cassiday and middle blocker Benjamin Lam. 'Iolani placed three players on the first team: setter Logan Nowack, libero Scott Sakaida and hitter Will Chambers. Kamehameha hitter Micah Christenson also made the first team.

Punahou's Rick Tune was the Coach of the Year.

• • •