Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, May 28, 2010

Leung powered Hawai‘i Baptist

 •  Taylor carried Punahou to top

Advertiser Staff

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser
spacer spacer

Ryan Leung, Hawai'i Baptist's go-to terminator, was powerful on the outside and voted by league coaches as the Interscholastic League of Honolulu Division II Player of the Year.

HBA hitter Chad Barretta and libero Christopher Matsui also made the first team. University High placed two players on the first team in Nalu O'Connor and Gavin Vestal. Also making the first team were Lanakila Baptist's Chase Hazelwood, Le Jardin's Kalani Soeda and Jonathan Sampaga, a senior who attends Word of Life but played on Hawaiian Mission's combined team.

Le Jardin's Jason Popejoy was selected Coach of the Year. Popejoy helped the Bulldogs finish second in ILH Division II.

• • •