Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, February 11, 2010

Winter Olympics: Speedskating capsule outlook

By Brian Hamilton
Chicago Tribune

Richmond Olympic Oval
FEB. 13-27

Best of the U.S.: Shani Davis is the name everyone will remember and is the favorite in both the 1,000 and 1,500. In 2006 in the 1,000-meter race, Davis became the first African American athlete to win gold in an individual Winter Games sport. He won the silver in the 1,500. Tucker Fredricks had podium finishes in each of the World Cups he skated in 2009-10 in the 500. Chad Hedrick and Trevor Marsciano lead the U.S. team pursuit squad, with Davis not participating as expected. Three-time Olympian Jen Rodriguez will lead the U.S. womenís team.
Best of the rest: Canadaís Christine Nesbitt was the 2009 world champion and won the overall World Cup title in the 1,000. Germanyís Monique Angermueller could make an impact in her Olympic debut. Canadaís Denny Morrison set a world record in the 1,500 in 2008, since broken by Davis. Martina Sablikova of the Czech Republic is the world-record holder in the 5,000. Sven Kramer of the Netherlands is the world-record holder in the 10,000. Kramerís countryman, Bob de Jong, is the defending Olympic champion.
Menís 500: 1. Lee Kyou-Hyuk, South Korea. 2. Joji Kato, Japan. 3. Fredricks, U.S.
Womenís 500: 1. Jenny Wolf, Germany. 2. Annette Gerritsen, Netherlands. 3. Wang Beixing, China.
Menís 1,000: 1. Davis, U.S. 2. Mark Tuitert, Netherlands. 3. Lee, South Korea.
Womenís 1,000: 1. Nesbitt, Canada. 2. Annette Gerritsen, Netherlands. 3. Angermueller, Germany.
Menís 1,500: 1. Davis, U.S. 2. Morrison, Canada. 3. Hedrick, U.S.
Womenís 1,500: 1. Groves, Canada. 2. Nesbitt, Canada. 3. Ireen Wust, Netherlands.
Menís 10,000: 1. Kramer, Netherlands. 2. De Jong, Netherlands. 3. Havard Bokko, Norway.
Womenís 5,000: 1. Sablikova, Czech Republic. 2. Groves, Canada. 3. Stephanie Beckert, Germany.
Menís team: 1. Canada. 2. Italy. 3. Netherlands.
Womenís team: 1. Canada. 2. Netherlands. 3. Germany.