Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, May 31, 2010

UH plays San Diego in NCAA baseball regional opener in Arizona

 •  Arizona State top seed in NCAA baseball tourney

Advertiser Staff


All Times EDT (Hawai‘i times in parentheses)

Double Elimination

x-if necessary

At Packard Stadium

Tempe, Ariz.

Friday, June 4

Game 1 - Hawai‘i (33-26) vs. San Diego (36-20), 5 p.m. (11 a.m. Hawai‘i time)

Game 2 - Wisconsin-Milwaukee (33-24) at Arizona State (47-8), 10 p.m. (4 p.m.)

Saturday, June 5

Game 3 - Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser, 5 p.m. (11 a.m.)

Game 4 - Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 10 p.m. (4 p.m.)

Sunday, June 6

Game 5 - Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 loser, 4 p.m. (10 a.m.)

Game 6 - Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner, 9 p.m. (3 p.m.)

Monday, June 7

x-Game 7 - Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner, 9:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)

spacer spacer

The University of Hawai'i will open against San Diego Friday in a four-team regional hosted by overall No. 1 seed Arizona State at Tempe, Ariz., in the NCAA Division I Baseball Championships, it was announced today.

Arizona State (47-8) will play Milwaukee (33-24) in the double-elimination regional. San Diego is 36-20. All regionals are scheduled from Friday to next Monday.

UH beat host San Diego, 8-6, on March 29.

The Rainbows (33-26) advanced to their first NCAA tournament since 2006 yesterday after they beat four-time defending champion Fresno State, 9-6, at Mesa, Ariz., capturing their first Western Athletic Conference baseball tournament championship since 1992. No other WAC teams were selected for the NCAA Tournament.

Texas was selected the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament, followed by Florida, Coastal Carolina, Virginia, UCLA, Louisville and Georgia Tech.

Each of the 16 regional winners advance to the super regionals, with the eight remaining teams earning trips to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., beginning June 19.