Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, March 22, 2010

Kamehameha seniors win big at annual songs contest

Advertiser Staff

Seniors swept the awards at the 90th annual Kamehameha Schools Songs Contest on Friday at the Neal Blaisdell Center.

Senior Zachary Lum won the Louise Aoe McGregor Award, which recognizes the student director who has made the most significant contribution to the class in organizational ability, leadership, assistance to others, and persistence.

The class of 2010 was named the winner of the Richard Lyman Jr. 'Olelo Makuahine (Mother Tongue) Award, which recognizes excellence in the use of the Hawaiian language within a song. Lyman, a Kamehameha Schools trustee from 1959 to 1988, was dedicated to the preservation of Hawaiian language and culture.

The class of 2010 also swept the George Alanson Andrus Cup (senior men), the Helen Desha Beamer Award (senior men), the Charles E. King Cup (senior class), New England Mothers' Cup (senior women) and the Kamehameha Schools Boys' Award (senior men).