Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, March 8, 2010

Flemings selected honorable mention

Advertiser Staff

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Roderick Flemings

spacer spacer

Roderick Flemings was the only University of Hawai'i player to be recognized on the 2009-10 Western Athletic Conference men's basketball postseason awards list released yesterday.

Flemings received honorable mention, meaning he was not one of the players selected to the All-WAC first or second teams. Hawai'i also did not land any players on the All-Defensive Team or All-Newcomer Team.

Flemings, a 6-foot-7 senior forward, finished sixth in the WAC in scoring with 16.6 points per game. He also averaged 6.2 rebounds per game.

Flemings finished his two-year career at Hawai'i with 964 points, which puts him at No. 17 on the program's all-time scoring list. Only five two-year players in Hawai'i basketball history scored more points: Tom Henderson (1,082), Anthony Carter (1,070), Reggie Cross (1,013), Michael Kuebler (977) and Trevor Ruffin (967).

Flemings was a second-team All-WAC selection last season.

His career as a Rainbow Warrior came to a disappointing close on Saturday when Idaho defeated Hawai'i, 78-69, at Moscow, Idaho.

This is the first time since the 2004-05 season that Hawai'i did not have a player on the All-WAC first or second team.

The 'Bows finished last in the WAC at 3-13 (10-20 overall) and did not qualify for this week's WAC Tournament at Reno, Nev.

Nevada forward Luke Babbitt was named the WAC Player of the Year. He averaged 21.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game, and led the Wolf Pack to a second-place finish in the WAC.

Utah State's Stew Morrill was named the Don Haskins Coach of the Year for the third consecutive year after leading the Aggies to the regular-season championship.


First team

Luke Babbitt (Nevada), F, 6-9, 225, So.

Jahmar Young (New Mexico State), G, 6-4, 180, Jr.

Adrian Oliver (San Jose State), G, 6-4, 210, Jr.

Jared Quayle (Utah State), G, 6-1, 180, Sr.

Tai Wesley (Utah State), F, 6-7, 240, Jr.

Second team

Paul George (Fresno State), F, 6-8, 215, So.

Kyle Gibson (Louisiana Tech), G, 6-5, 205, Sr.

Magnum Rolle (Louisiana Tech), C, 6-11, 220, Sr.

Armon Johnson (Nevada), G, 6-3, 195, Jr.

Jonathan Gibson (New Mexico State), G, 6-1, 171, Sr.

Honorable mention

Daequon Montreal (Boise State), F, 6-8, 220, Jr.

Sylvester Seay (Fresno State), F, 6-10, 235, Sr.

Roderick Flemings (Hawai'i), F, 6-7, 210, Sr.

Mac Hopson (Idaho), G, 6-2, 185, Sr.

Wendell McKines (New Mexico State), F, 6-6, 224, Jr.

Player of the Year: Luke Babbitt, Nevada

Freshman of the Year: Greg Smith, Fresno State

Don Haskins Coach of the Year: Stew Morrill, Utah State

All-Defensive Team

Marvin Jefferson (Idaho), Kyle Gibson (Louisiana Tech), Magnum Rolle (Louisiana Tech), Dario Hunt (Nevada), Pooh Williams (Utah State).

All-Newcomer Team

Daequon Montreal (Boise State), Greg Smith (Fresno State), DeAndre Brown (Louisiana Tech), Nate Bendall (Utah State), Brian Green (Utah State).