Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Saturday, January 16, 2010

Motor sports: Sainz of Spain wins Dakar Rally, Miller of US 3rd

Associated Press

BUENOS AIRES, Argentina Carlos Sainz of Spain won the Dakar Rally in his Volkswagen, finishing second in Saturday's final stage into Buenos Aires to maintain his overall led.

Volkswagen teammate Nasser Al-Attiyah won the 14th and final 128-mile stage in 1 hour, 19 minutes, 42 seconds.

Sainz finished in 47:10:00 overall, which was 2:12 ahead of Al-Attiyah and 35:21 better than Mark Miller of the United States. It was a 1-2-3 sweep for Volkswagen.

Cyril Despres of France won in motorcycle division with an overall time of 51:10:37. He finished sixth on his KTM in the final stage.

Pal Anders Ullevalseter of Norway was second overall, 1:02:52 behind.